Co-host a live stream
Last updated: September, 2026
In this article, we'll guide you through the various options you can access when co-hosting a live stream on a desktop or Circle iOS and Android apps.
Desktop
Besides participating in the live stream with the host, you can access the following options on the control bar at the footer of your screen:
Manage device settings
Report technical issue
Internet strength
Raise your hand
Toggle microphone and camera
Share your screen
Reactions
Participate in a chat
Participate in Q&A
View participants list
-
View mode
Manage device settings
To manage your audio and video preferences, click Device settings ⚙️ on the control bar. You can configure the following:
Camera input
Blur your background
Mirror your video input
Microphone input and audio output
-
Report technical issue
To report any technical issues you experience during the live stream, click Report issue on the control bar. You can provide the following details:
Type of issue: Audio, video, connection, screen sharing, or other technical issue
Description: A brief summary of the issue
-
Technical details: Toggle this option on to automatically include technical information that can help us troubleshoot the issue. If you prefer not to share this information, you can toggle it off.
Internet strength
To check your internet strength, click the Internet strength icon on the control bar to ensure you have a stable connection for the live stream.
Raise your hands
To raise or lower your hands, click Raise hand 🤚 on the control bar. When you raise your hands, it'll be visible on your thumbnail in the live views and participant panel.
Toggle microphone and camera
To mute or unmute yourself or turn your camera on or off, click the Microphone or Camera icons on the control bar.
Share your screen
Depending on the browser you are using, when you click the Screen sharing icon on the control bar, you'll be prompted to choose a specific tab, window, or the entire screen of your device.
Once you begin screen sharing, your live view will appear grayed out to avoid infinite mirroring.
When you’re done sharing, go to your live screen and click Stop sharing.
ℹ️ Note: Only one person can share the screen at a time. If someone is already sharing a screen, the Screen sharing icon will be disabled for you.
📚 For more information about sharing your screen or system audio, see the following articles:
Reactions
To add a reaction, click the Reactions icon on the control bar. When you add a reaction, a pop-up with your name will appear, and the reaction will be visible to all participants.
Participate in a chat
Live stream chat helps you connect and engage in discussions with other participants. To access the chat panel, click Chat 💬 on the control bar. Utilize the messaging field at the bottom of the chat panel to compose and send chat messages.
In addition to your text message, you can:
Share images, emojis, GIFs, and files to enrich conversations.
Mention other attendees to draw their attention.
Link to community content using Hashtags for easy reference.
📚 For a comprehensive guide on sending messages, replying in threads, and reacting with emojis, see our guide on Participate in live chat.
💡 Tip: To edit or delete your chat messages, simply hover over your message, click the More actions (three dots) icon, and select the appropriate option.
Enable Q&A
Live Q&A helps participants engage in meaningful discussions with hosts and co-hosts by asking questions during the session. To access the Q&A panel, click Q&A on the control bar.
As a host or live moderator, you can create a dynamic, interactive experience by managing questions in real time. You can organize, spotlight, and prioritize key topics
📚 For a comprehensive guide on sending messages, replying in threads, and reacting with emojis, see our guide on Host and manage Q&A.
View participants list
To view all participants, click Participants 👥 on the control bar. You can click the participant’s name or icon to view their community profile or send them a direct message.
To remove yourself as co-host and become a participant again:
Go to the Participants panel.
Hover over your name and click More actions (three dots), then select Remove as co-host.
Change view mode
To change the view mode, click View mode on the control bar. You can select from the following options:
Speaker - Top
Speaker - Side
Gallery: Select the number of tiles you want to display per page using the slider below.
Additionally, you can choose to view the session in Full screen or open it in Picture-in-picture mode.
Circle mobile apps
The Circle mobile app also has a control bar at the bottom for managing options when co-hosting a live stream.
Toggle microphone and camera: Tap the Microphone or Camera icons to enable or disable them.
Raise hand
Enable Q&A
Participate in chat: Tap the Chat 💬 on the control bar to view, send, and manage your chat messages. To edit or delete your chat message, tap and hold on the message.
View participants: Tap Participants 👥 on the control bar to view all participants. You can also tap any participant’s name to view their profile. To remove yourself as a co-host, click More actions (three dots) next to your name. Then select "Remove yourself as a co-host.
Manage live view: Swipe right to switch to the Gallery view.
Other options on the top control bar:
Report a technical issue
Leave stream: Tap the X icon in the top-right corner to leave the stream.
💡 Tip: To go fullscreen on iOS, simply tap anywhere on the screen, which will also hide all the controls. Tap again to exit the full screen. If you've enabled screen rotation on your iOS device, you can also rotate your phone to view the stream horizontally or vertically.