Understanding the cancelation process for failed payments
Last updated: January 03, 2023
This article describes events that take place when an attempt to charge a member subscription fails.
Upon subscription renewal
A charge to your member’s default card will be initiated.
If the charge fails due to not having a card on file or a failed payment method, the subscription will move to Past due status.
Stripe will try to charge the member again based on the retry schedule under the Manage failed payments section (go to Stripe account → Settings → Subscriptions and emails).
Once all retries fail, the subscription status will be moved to Canceled.
Circle will then remove member’s access from all the spaces and space groups that are part of the paywall.
Key things to know about subscription cancelations
Circle will only revoke member access to the spaces and space groups that were part of the paywall upon subscription cancelation.
-
We recommend modifying Stripe’s failed payment configuration for payment retries and cancelations based on your leniency policy. To learn more, see the following articles:
Relevant articles
If you haven't already, we recommend checking out the following articles: