View and manage contacts
Last updated: October, 2026
You can view and manage all your community contacts in one place. This article walks you through how to access your contact list, update non-member profiles, invite non-members to join the community, and delete contacts when needed.
Access the contact list
To access the contact list:
Click Audience in the left sidebar, then select Audience.
-
On the Manage audience page, go to either the Contacts or All tab. Both these tabs house non-members:
All: The All tab displays all members and non-members, including those who have unsubscribed from marketing emails. You can use this tab to view and manage your entire audience.
Contacts: The Contacts tab displays only members or non-members who are currently subscribed to your marketing emails. This tab helps you focus on the individuals who are contacts.
💡 Tip: You can export the CSV of your non-members from the All and Contacts tab. Apply the Member filter and set the value to No to refine the results, ensuring only non-members and individuals who haven’t completed the onboarding (sign up process) are included. Then, click More below the filters bar and select Export CSV to download the file.
On the Contacts tab, you can see various columns displaying the vital information about contacts, including:
Name
Email
Role
Invitation status
Date added
And more
ℹ️ Note: If the contact is a non-member, certain columns, such as Invitation status, will show a dash ➖ symbol since these fields don’t apply to them.
💡 Tip: Click the contact's name to access the edit contact page. Depending on whether the contact is a member or a non-member, you can update various details for them.
Sort contacts
As with any other tab on the Manage audience page, you can sort the contacts list by one of the eligible columns, such as name, score, date added, or joined date.
To sort the data, click the column header you want to sort by. For instance, to arrange contact names alphabetically, click Name. An arrow will appear to indicate the sorting order. To switch between ascending and descending order, click the column title again.
Filter contacts
Filters allow you to refine your contacts list based on specific criteria.
To filter the audience:
-
Select a filter: Choose one of the default filters visible on the filters bar or click Add filter to access additional filters. You’ll be able to use various CRM, platform, and profile fields as filters.
ℹ️ Note: Filters dedicated to members, such as event, space, or activity scores, will not include non-members in the results.
-
Set your criteria: After selecting a filter, enter the relevant criteria. Certain filters support advanced conditions for more precise filtering.
-
Using advanced conditions: These conditions are available for text-type and list-type filters, such as name, headline, and location (including checkbox- and dropdown-type profile fields). Depending on the type of field you are using as a filter, you can use one of the following conditions:
Contains (available only to text, link, and number type fields)
Does not contain (available only to text, link, and number type fields)
Is
Is not
Is empty
Is not empty
💡 Tip: You can also apply these conditions in workflows for audience rules and in broadcasts when applying custom filters to add recipients.
-
Apply the filter: Click Apply or Done to finalize your selection.
Note that these filters are applied using the “And” condition, meaning the refined list includes only contacts that meet all selected filter criteria. To refine your search further, you can apply the same filter multiple times to create highly specific combinations for more granular results.
Examples:
To view only non-members in the contacts list, select the Members filter, set the criteria to No, and click Apply.
To refine the contacts list with a specific keyword in a profile field, choose the relevant profile field filter, set the condition to Contains, enter your keyword, and click Done.
Update a non-member account
You can update a non-member's profile, whether or not they are subscribed to marketing emails. This includes editing their name, tags, or profile field information. Additionally, you can invite non-members to join your community and become members.
💡 Tip: If the contact is a member of your community, you have the ability to manage various aspects of their account, including permissions, access, profile fields, and more. For detailed information, see our guide here.
To modify the non-member account:
Click Audience in the left sidebar, then select Audience.
Navigate to the All or Contacts tab on the Manage audience page.
-
Locate the non-member and click their name. Alternatively, hover over their name, click More actions (three dots)and select Edit.
When editing the account, you’ll find the Overview section, which includes information on:
Whether they are a non-member and subscribed to marketing emails.
The date they were added to your community as a contact.
Updating name
To update the contact's name, simply enter the new name directly in the Full name field.
Adding or removing tags
Tags help you better organize and categorize your contacts. You can easily add or remove tags for a contact:
To add a new tag, click in the field or type the tag’s name and select it from the list.
To remove a tag, click Remove (X) next to the tag you wish to remove.
Adding or updating profile field information
As a community admin, you can add profile field information to non-member profiles. This allows you to store more detailed information about your non-member contacts, similar to member profiles. You can utilize all profile fields, including custom ones, to capture relevant data.
On the edit page, you’ll see all profile fields listed under the Profile fields section. From here, you can easily add or update the profile field information for the selected contact.
Here are some key things to know about profile fields for non-members:
Ability to add profile field information: Only admins can view and manage profile fields for non-members.
-
Using profile fields for admin purposes: Once you have set up custom profile fields, you can use them in various ways throughout your community, including:
Manage audience page: Use the profile fields as filters to refine your audience based on their specific profile information. From the Manage audience page, you can also add or update non-members' profile information.
Workflows: Use the profile fields as Audience rules to refine your audience for bulk action and scheduled workflows. In the automation workflows, you can use the Profile field updated trigger to set up automations based on changes to specific profile fields.
Broadcasts: When creating marketing broadcasts, you can use profile fields as custom filters to define your target audience.
Invite a non-member contact to the community
Non-members can join your community through various entry points, including invitation links and paywalls.
You can also invite a non-member contact using the Circle’s invitation method directly from their profile. To invite them:
Click Audience in the left sidebar, then select Audience.
Go to the All or Contacts tab on the Manage audience page and locate the non-member.
Hover over their name, click More actions (three dots) and select Invite to community.
This will take you to the invitation setup with their name and email automatically filled up. You can configure various options such as their access, role, and permissions. You can also provide them with a custom trial.
📚 For more information, see our guide on inviting people to your community here.
Delete a contact
You can permanently delete a non-member contact from your community to remove their information. Doing so will also exclude them from any scheduled broadcasts or any workflows they were part of.
To delete a non-member contact:
Click Audience in the left sidebar, then select Audience.
Go to the All or Contacts tab on the Manage audience page and locate the contact.
Hover over their name, click More actions (three dots) and Delete.
Confirm the deletion.
❗Important: If you see the Deactivate option in the menu instead of Delete, it means the contact is also a member of your community.
In this case, you have the option to deactivate, delete, or ban a member from your community.
-
To permanently delete a member and all their data:
Hover over their name, click More actions (three dots) and select Edit.
Click More actions (three dots) in the top-right corner and select Delete.
Confirm the action.
📚 To learn more about these member removal options, see Deactivate, delete, or ban members.