Re-invite a deactivated member
Last updated: November 26, 2024
In this article, we'll walk you through important information about account reactivation and provide guidance to effortlessly re-invite deactivated members to your community.
Preparing to re-invite members: What you should know
Before you re-invite a member to your community, let’s take a look at key information about the reactivation process.
Can members automatically regain their previous access?
Upon account reactivation, members won’t automatically regain the previous content access. Instead, they’ll only receive access to content that you provide when you re-invite them via the invitation method.
Can members self-reactivate their accounts?
Members can re-activate their account in two ways, depending on whether a member has access to the following links:
Invitation link: If a member has an invitation link to your community, they can re-activate their account and get access to the community content based on the link’s configuration.
Paywall checkout URL: Deactivated members can use the paywall checkout URL to reactivate their accounts and get access to paywalled content.
What content can a member get access to upon reactivation?
When a member is re-invited, access to certain information and their previously posted content depends on the method used to invite them back into the community.
Here's a breakdown of what a member can regain access to when you reactivate their account:
Posted content: The member can access and interact with their previously posted content, such as posts, comments, and chat space messages, only if they are given access to the spaces where they originally posted it.
One-to-one DMs: When the member account is reactivated, they automatically gain access to their previous DM conversations.
Group DMs: In order to engage in their previous group discussions again, the reactivated member must receive an invitation from a group DM moderator.
Gamification points: The member automatically regains any gamification reward points they previously earned.
❗It’s important to note that member tags and moderation privileges that were previously assigned to the deactivated member cannot be automatically recovered. However, you can manually reassign these to their member account when re-inviting them to the community or by updating their account after reactivation.
What aspects of a member account cannot be recovered upon reactivation?
There are certain aspects of a member account that won’t be recovered when reactivate their account. These include:
Course progress
Profile field information
Activity score
Event RSVPs
Re-invite a member
To re-invite a member to your community, we recommend using the individual invite method. This will give you an opportunity to configure access for individual members according to your preferences.
💡 Tip: If you want to invite multiple deactivated members at once, you can use the bulk invite method. However, with this method, all members will receive the same level of access to your community.
To re-invite a member, follow these steps:
On the top navigation bar, click your community name or logo—or the dropdown icon next to it–and select Audience.
Click Add in the upper-right corner and select Invite members.
Enter the member’s email and set everything up as per your preference.
Once you have reviewed the invitation setup, click Send invites.
Once members receive the invitation, they can log in to the community using the same login credentials as before. It's important to note that when members log in to the community, they must go through the profile creation process first to reactivate their member account.
📚 For more information, see Guide members through the community onboarding process.