Manage moderation settings
Last updated: October, 2026
We offer a range of moderation settings to help you ensure that member-generated content meets the community standards and guidelines, creating a safe and positive environment for all members.
Access moderation settings
To access and configure moderation settings:
Click Community in the left sidebar, then select Moderation.
To go to the moderation settings page, click Settings in the top-right corner.
Modify the options as per your preference.
Save changes.
ℹ️ Note: The option to configure moderation settings, including profanity filter, is only supported on web browsers and the Circle desktop app.
The profanity filter and other moderation settings will be applied to the following content in your community:
Post spaces: Posts and comments
Image spaces: Posts and comments
Event spaces: Comments
Let’s explore all the available configuration options for moderation.
Profanity filter
Set up automation in your community to flag and hide any posts or comments from members that include words violating the community guidelines you’ve set.
❗Important: The profanity filter is only applied to members. The filter will not affect any post or comment made within the space by admins and moderators of that specific space or its space group.
📚 To learn more about the profanity filter, see Set up a profanity filter.
Reported moderation
Effectively manage reported content in your community using the following settings.
Flag all member activity after X reports
This setting allows you to automatically flag all future posts and comments from a member after their current posts or comments have been reported a set number of times. Once this setting flags a member, the Moderate posts and comments toggle will be enabled for their account, and all future posts and comments will require approval before becoming visible to everyone.
For instance, let’s assume the threshold for this setting is 5. If a member’s posts or comments receive a total of 5 reports across their content, all their future posts and comments will be automatically flagged.
Here are some important notes about this setting:
When a member reports a post or comment, it will only be counted once towards the threshold setting, even if the member reports the same content multiple times.
Both pending and approved reports will count toward this threshold, which will flag the member’s future content once the reports meet the threshold.
You can remove the restriction on the member so they can post and comment without being flagged by this setting. If you need to restrict their activity again later, you can turn the Moderate posts and comments toggle back on from their edit account page.📚 For more information, see Flag members in your community.
Flag a post or comment after it's reported X times
When a post or comment is reported a specified number of times, it will be automatically flagged for review. The flagged post or comment will remain hidden until it is approved.
Here are some important notes about this setting:
When a member reports a post or comment, it will only be counted once towards the threshold setting, even if the member reports the same content multiple times.
Only pending reports for posts or comments that are still in the moderation inbox will count towards this threshold setting.
If a post is approved before reaching this threshold and then edited by the author to include inappropriate content that is reported again by members, it will be flagged if the pending report count reaches this threshold setting count.
Flag a post or comment if reported by an admin or moderator
When this setting is disabled, content reported by an admin or moderator will not be automatically flagged unless it meets the threshold set by other settings. However, you have the flexibility to enable this toggle to flag and hide member content immediately when it is reported by the admin or moderator of that space or space group.
ℹ️ Note: If the moderator reports a post or comment in a space they are not the moderator of, the post will not be flagged by this setting. Instead, it will be reported for review similarly to how member reports are considered.
Disable repetitive notifications for reported members
Enable this toggle to stop receiving in-app and email notifications for newly reported posts or comments for a member whose content has already been reported once.
Once enabled, all admins and moderators will stop receiving new notifications for the member who has already been reported.
Preemptive moderation
In addition to the reported moderation, you have multiple options to implement a proactive approach to maintaining a safe and positive environment within your community.
Flag all new posts
Enabling this setting will automatically flag and hide all new posts from all members, except admins and moderators for the space or space group they moderate.
ℹ️ Note: If a moderator posts within a space or space group they are not a moderator of, this setting will flag their posts.
Flag all new comments
Enabling this setting will automatically flag and hide all new comments from all members, except admins and moderators for the space or space group they moderate.
ℹ️ Note: If a moderator comments within a space or space group they are not a moderator of, this setting will flag their comment.
First post or comment approval
Enabling this setting will flag all members' posts and comments for review and hide them until their initial post or comment is approved. After their content is approved, they can post content within the community without being automatically flagged by this setting again. This helps ensure that members' initial content aligns with community guidelines before being publicly visible.
This setting applies to all members, including new and existing members who haven’t created any posts or comments in the community yet. If any community member has already created a post or comment before you enable this toggle, their content will not require approval.
ℹ️ Note: If the Flag all new posts and Flag all new comments toggles are enabled, the First post or comment approval option will become unavailable.
Moderate after rejection
When you reject a flagged post or comment for a member, all future posts will require approval until the member is un-flagged.
Space moderation
Space moderation settings allow you to proactively monitor and manage the content shared by members within specific spaces, helping to maintain community standards and prevent unwanted content.
❗Important: This setting applies only to members. It does not affect any posts or comments made within the space by admins and moderators of that specific space or its space group.
Flag all new posts in given spaces
Use this setting to automatically flag new posts created by members within specific spaces. Once flagged, posts will remain hidden until approved, ensuring that only authorized content is visible.
To add a space to this setting, click the dropdown menu and select a space from the list. You can add as many spaces as you want.
ℹ️ Note: If the Flag all new posts toggle is enabled, the option to flag all new posts in given spaces will become unavailable.
Flag all new comments in given spaces
Apply this setting to automatically flag new comments posted by members in selected spaces. Flagged comments stay hidden until approved, helping to maintain respectful and focused discussions.
To add a space to this setting, click the dropdown menu and select a space from the list. You can add as many spaces as you want.
ℹ️ Note: If the Flag all new comments toggle is enabled, the option to flag all new comments in given spaces will become unavailable.
Email settings
For moderation email notifications, you can control whether the content preview of the flagged post or comment appears in the email.
To manage this, you can toggle the Hide flagged content preview in emails. When enabled, email notifications will inform admins and moderators of moderation reports without displaying a content preview, adding an extra layer of discretion to these notifications.