Get to know content moderation

Last updated: June 30, 2025

Have you ever wondered how your community can stay safe and positive? The answer lies in content moderation. This article explains how the content moderation feature works within your community.

Manual reporting

Everyone, including admins, moderators, and members, can report content within spaces covered by the moderation feature. This empowers members to flag inappropriate content, fostering a safer, more inclusive community. It enhances moderation by surfacing issues quickly and allowing moderators to act efficiently.

When content is flagged via manual reports, here’s what happens:

  • Visibility: Manually reported content usually remains visible unless specific exceptions apply (outlined below).

  • Exceptions: There are certain conditions that automatically hide the manually reported content:

    • Threshold settings: If the report reaches the threshold number set in the Flag a post or comment after it's reported X times setting, the content will be hidden.

    • Report by admin or moderator: If the Flag a post or comment if reported by an admin or moderator setting is enabled, and an admin or moderator reports member content, it automatically gets hidden.

When you review the flagged content, you can easily check whether it is visible in your community in the Reports tab. At the top, a message indicates its visibility status.

Automated flagging

In addition to manual reports, there are several ways content can be flagged in your community:

  • Profanity filter: Content contains the keyword set in the profanity filter. 

  • Flagged member: Content is posted by a member who is already flagged by an admin or the Flag all member activity after X reports setting for reported content.

  • Proactive moderation settings: Content is flagged by preemptive or space moderation settings.

Here’s what happens when content is automatically flagged:

  • Visibility: Automatically flagged content is temporarily hidden from other community members. It remains visible only to the space moderator, admin, and the member who posted it within their accounts.

  • In review badge: The automatically flagged content is marked with the In review badge, indicating that it is under review. 

Notifications

For each content report, we send an email and in-app notifications to admins and moderators of the space where the content is posted. 

When it comes to moderation-related notifications, we offer the following customizable options:

  • Notification preferences: Admins and moderators can control whether they receive alerts when new content is flagged for review. To update your preferences, go to your account’s notification settings. From there, select or deselect the checkbox related to email and in-app notification for the New content flagged for review option.

  • Repetitive notifications: You can disable repetitive notifications about the same member being reported from the moderation settings.

Content review

Once the content is reported, as an admin or moderator, you can examine it, considering community guidelines, the context of the post or comment, the reason for the report, and any additional information.

  • If you approve the content, it remains visible in the community.

  • If you reject the content, it gets removed from the community.

If you have approved or rejected content by mistake, you also have the flexibility to reverse the decision.

Relevant articles