View and manage live recordings

Last updated: September, 2026

Live recordings make it easy to capture and share what happened during a live stream or event, allowing audiences who missed it to catch up later. This article will walk you through the steps to access and manage these recordings.

About live recordings

When recording is enabled for an instant live session or live event, a recording file becomes available once the session ends.

All live recordings count toward your community’s storage. You can track how much space they take up at any time from the media manager.

Who can access live recordings

Only community admins have access to recordings from the live dashboard and media manager. Recordings are available across the desktop app, web browsers, and mobile browsers.

Additionally, a copy of the recording is emailed to the host’s account. If a member hosted the session or event, the recording will be sent to their email address.

Where live recordings are available

Recordings can be found in the following places

  • Live dashboard: The main hub to view session details and manage recordings (explained in this article).

  • Media manager: Recordings also appear here. From the media manager, admins can view, download, and adjust video settings just like in the live dashboard. Learn more about the media manager here.

Access recordings from the live dashboard

To access the live dashboard, click Community in the left sidebar, then select Live streams.

You’ll see a list of live sessions and events. If a recording is available for a session, you’ll see a Download button in the Recording column.

Watch a recorded session

To view a recorded session, click More actions (three dots) next to the live session in the dashboard and select View details. To play the live recording, click anywhere on the recording player.

On the player's control bar, playback controls include:

  • Settings: Adjust playback speed, video quality, and enable or disable captions (if available).

  • Fullscreen: Expand the player to full screen.

  • Picture-in-picture: Open the recording in a floating window so you can keep watching while navigating away.

  • Download: Save the MP4 file to your device. This icon only appears if the Make downloadable toggle is enabled in video settings.

Access video settings

To access video settings, hover over the video player and click Customize video (setup icon) in the top-right corner.

When you update video settings for the recording from the live dashboard, it will be updated for all locations where the original video is posted using built-in options:

  • The Automatically post recording to event toggle in event setup.

  • The Post to space option for live recording (see the Post recording to a community space section below for more details).

Similar to uploaded videos, you can:

  • Add a custom thumbnail to make the recording stand out.

  • Allow members to download the recording.

  • Manage transcription availability to improve accessibility and engagement.

  • Add chapters to make longer live sessions easier to navigate.

📚 To learn more about various video customizations, see Guide to video customizations.

Download a recording

To download directly from the live dashboard, click the Download button in the Recording column next to the live session to save an MP4 file of the recording to your device.

Download a transcript

If a transcript is available, you can download it directly from the dashboard or from video settings.

To download it from the dashboard, click More actions (three dots) next to the live session and select Download transcript.

The transcript file will be downloaded to your device.

Post a recording to a community space

You can share a live session recording as a new post directly from the live dashboard. This is a great way to make your recording accessible to a broader audience who couldn’t attend the session live.

ℹ️ Note: Posting a recording through this option does not use any additional storage beyond what’s already taken up by the recording itself.

To post a recording:

  1. Find the session you want to share in the live dashboard.

  2. Click More actions (three dots) next to the session and select Post to space.

  1. The post editor will open with the recording already added to the post body.

  2. At the bottom of the editor, use the Choose a space to post in dropdown and select the post-type space where you want to share the recording.

  3. Add your content:

    • Title: Give the post a clear, descriptive title so members know what the recording is about.

    • Body: Add context, notes, or links. For example, you might include a session summary, key moments, or related resources.

    • Settings: Click the Gear icon at the top right to adjust post settings, custom URL slug, and more.

  4. Publish your post:

    • Click Publish to share it right away, or

    • Use the dropdown next to Publish to schedule for later or save as a draft.

Delete a recording

To permanently delete a recording from the dashboard, click More actions (three dots) next to the live session and select Delete recording.

ℹ️ Note: Deleting the recording file from the dashboard will only remove it from dashboard and event description (in case the recording was automatically posted to your live event). If you wish to delete the original recording file along with other shared locations, such as any posts it was shared to via the dashboard, delete it from the media manager.