Hide or close comments on a post

Last updated: September 21, 2023

As a content creator or community manager, you may find it helpful to control the discussion around a post by either hiding or closing comments. These options are particularly useful when you want to remove the ability to comment or host a timed discussion in your post.

Let’s walk you through a step-by-step guide on hiding or closing comments on a post within your post spaces.

ℹ️ Note: It’s important to note that both of these options can only be managed through a browser on a desktop or mobile device.

Hide comments

Hiding comments on a post allows you to completely remove the comments section and the comments icon from the post. This is especially helpful for content designed around consumption only rather than feedback or discussion.

To hide comments:

  1. Navigate to the post space and locate the post.

  2. Click the More actions (three dots) icon next to the post title and turn on the Hide comments toggle.

Once you've enabled this toggle, the comment icon and all existing comments will be discreetly hidden from the post.

💡 Tip: You can also access the hide or close comments option from post settings when creating or editing a post.

Close comments

Closing comments on a post allows you to prevent new comments from being added to the post but retains the existing comments for reference. This can be beneficial when you want to conclude a discussion in a post. You can also use this option to host a timed discussion or contest via comments.

To close comments on a post:

  1. Head to the post space and locate the post.

  2. Click the More actions (three dots) icon next to the post title and turn on the Close comments toggle.

Once the toggle is enabled, you'll notice that the comment icon disappears from the post, and a banner appears above the existing comments, clearly indicating that comments are now closed for the post.

Relevant articles