Removing custom domain
Last updated: September, 2026
Whether you're rebranding or simply want to return to your community's default URL, you can remove your custom domain at any time in your custom domain settings. In this article, we'll walk you through the essential information you need to remove a custom domain and provide clear, step-by-step instructions.
Key things to consider before removing the custom domain
💡 Tip: Default community URL is your community’s subdomain set by you on Circle, i.e. [subdomain].circle.so. You can find your community URL by navigating to the community’s general settings page.
Community content and URLs
Removing the custom domain won’t affect the community content itself. After removing it, when you browse through your settings, spaces, and posts, all of those URLs will match the community’s default URL.
For example:
You have a post with the current custom domain (domain.com/c/start-here/howdy)
When you remove the custom domain, you will need to use your community's default URL before the post slug to navigate to the same post (marseducation.circle.so/c/start-here/howdy).
Old community links
Any community URLs with the old custom domain that you may have shared within community posts, comments, or externally on your website or social media will no longer work
❗Important: Please note that Circle is unable to provide support for any custom modifications to forward all previous URLs with the old domain that may have been linked externally.
For example, let's assume that:
Your custom domain currently is domain.com.
Your default community URL is marseducation.circle.so.
In the above example, when you remove the custom domain:
-
Your community will only be accessible by using the default community URL (marseducation.circle.so).
Any community link that begins with domain.com that you may have shared on your website, in posts, or in comments will no longer function.
Any community link beginning with domain.com will not automatically redirect to your default community URL (marseducation.circle.so).
Community Invites
If you sent member invitations from your community, please note that the Accept invitation link with the invitation email will no longer work for those who have not yet accepted the invitations.
After removing your domain, we recommend resending the member invitation email to everyone who is still in the invited status:
Click Audience in the left sidebar, then select Audience.
Navigate to the Invited tab.
Click the More dropdown and select Resend invites.
📚 To learn more about pending member invites, see Viewing and resending pending member invites.
Invitation links
When you remove the custom domain, the existing invitation links in your community will be updated with new links. As a result, the invitation links you shared previously will no longer work for new members.
ℹ️ Note: This won’t affect the members who have already used the link. They will simply need to use the default community URL to access their account.
We recommend sharing an updated invitation link with anyone who hasn't joined your community yet. To copy the updated link:
Click Audience in the left sidebar, then select Invite links.
Click Copy link next to the invitation link.
Let your members know
We suggest communicating this change to your members in advance via your preferred communication method. In your communication, make sure to include:
The reason behind making this change and how it will impact your members going forward.
The date/time when this change will take place.
New community URL so that members can access the community after the change.
Remove the custom domain
If you are using Single Sign-On (SSO):
Turn on the Allow members with a Circle account to sign in option first in your SSO settings to prevent being locked out. To do so:
Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select Settings.
Scroll down to the Community section and select Single sign-on.
Toggle on the Allow members with a Circle account to sign in option.
Remove the custom domain. To remove the custom domain:
Click the community name or logo in the top-left corner and select Settings.
In the sidebar menu, click Custom domain.
On the custom domain page, click Remove Custom domain.
Click Confirm on the next screen to confirm the removal.
Once you have removed the custom domain:
Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select Settings.
Scroll down to the Community section and select Single sign-on.
Copy the new callback URL (removing the custom domain will update it as well).
Next, paste it into your SSO provider to ensure it is updated.
If you enabled the Allow members with a Circle account to sign in option in SSO settings, you can disable it now if you no longer need it. To do so:
Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select Settings.
Scroll down to the Community section and select Single sign-on.
Toggle off the Allow members with a Circle account to sign in option.
You're all set! Your community URL will be set back to your default community domain.