# Deactivating an automation workflow

https://help.circle.so/p/workflows/workflow-management/deactivating-a-automation-workflow

Category: [Workflows](https://help.circle.so/p/workflows) › [Workflow management](https://help.circle.so/p/workflows/workflow-management)

---

_Last updated: September, 2026_

You can deactivate the automation workflow if you no longer want it to automatically perform an action whenever a trigger event occurs in your community. This is especially helpful if you need to temporarily pause the automation or plan to implement a new automation strategy for the workflow.

## Key things to know before deactivating an automation workflow

- When you deactivate an automation workflow, its trigger will no longer activate for people&nbsp;going forward. However, any&nbsp; **in-progress runs will continue executing** &nbsp;all remaining actions for people who have already entered the workflow.

- If a workflow&nbsp;has already started running&nbsp;for a member&nbsp;and is currently in the middle of a 1-week delay action following an add tag action. If you deactivate the workflow, the delay and any remaining actions in the sequence will still be executed&nbsp;for this member.

## **Deactivate a workflow**

To deactivate the workflow directly from the workflows page:

1. Click&nbsp; **Workflows** &nbsp;in the left sidebar, then select&nbsp; **Workflows**.

2. Navigate to the&nbsp; **Automations** &nbsp;tab and locate the workflow.

3. Click the&nbsp; **On** &nbsp;toggle next to the workflow in the&nbsp; **Active** &nbsp;column.  

To deactivate the workflow from the workflow overview page:

1. Click&nbsp; **Workflows** &nbsp;in the left sidebar, then select&nbsp; **Workflows**.

2. Navigate to the&nbsp; **Automations** &nbsp;tab and locate the workflow.

3. Hover over the workflow, click&nbsp;**More actions (three dots)**, and select&nbsp; **View**.

4. Click the&nbsp; **On** &nbsp;toggle in the top-right corner.

## **Reactivate a workflow**

If a workflow has been disabled, you can easily reactivate it at any time to resume its automated actions.

To reactivate the automation workflow from the&nbsp;Workflows&nbsp;page or&nbsp;Workflows overview&nbsp;page, follow the steps above, then click the&nbsp; **Off** &nbsp;toggle to turn it on.

 ![](https://assets-v2.circle.so/17lfee6ijc5pu6qwcux97nr7an5u)
## **Relevant articles**

- [Create workflows using templates](/p/workflows/workflow-setup/create-workflows-using-templates)

- [Set up a custom automation workflow](/p/workflows/workflow-setup/set-up-a-custom-automation-workflow)
