# Deactivating your member account

> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](/llms.txt).


https://help.circle.so/p/members/account-access-management/deactivating-your-member-account

Category: [Members](https://help.circle.so/p/members) › [Account access and management](https://help.circle.so/p/members/account-access-management)

---

🟡 _Member-focused article | Last updated: October, 2026_

If the admin has enabled the account deactivation option, you can deactivate your community account right from your authentication settings. In this article, we'll go over essential details and the steps to deactivate your community account.

## **Key things to know about account deactivation**

- You can deactivate your account only if you log in to your community with your&nbsp; **Circle account email and password**. If you have logged in through an SSO (Single sign-on) provider, the&nbsp; **Authentication** &nbsp;settings—including email and password changes as well as account deactivation—will not be available.

- If you have an active subscription in the community, deactivating your account will automatically cancel the subscription without a refund.

- If you have multiple community accounts linked to the same email on Circle, deactivating a member account for one community will not impact any other member accounts. You can still access your active member accounts with the same login credentials.

- After deactivating your account, you will lose access to your community. However, your posted content, such as posts, comments, and messages in chat space and group DMs will remain in the community.

- Community members can view your content and one-to-one DMs with you, but they won’t be able to access your profile information.

- If this deactivation was accidental, you can contact your community admin to request the reactivation of your member account.

> 💡&nbsp; **Tip:&nbsp;** If you wish to permanently delete your account and all associated data, please reach out to the community admin for assistance.

## **To deactivate your account**

1. Click your profile photo in the top navigation bar, then select&nbsp; **Authentication.**

2. Scroll down to the&nbsp; **Deactivate account** &nbsp;section and click&nbsp; **Deactivate.**

3. In the confirmation dialog, click **Deactivate** again to confirm deactivating your account.
