# Block a member from messaging you

https://help.circle.so/p/members/account-access-management/block-a-member-from-messaging-you

Category: [Members](https://help.circle.so/p/members) › [Account access and management](https://help.circle.so/p/members/account-access-management)

---

_Last updated:&nbsp;October, 2026_

Blocking direct messages lets you control who can message you one-to-one, without limiting how you participate in the rest of the community.

## **About blocking direct messages**

Preventing members from sending you private DM is a simple way to set boundaries while staying active in conversations, spaces, and groups.

### What happens when you block someone

When you block someone from sending you direct messages:

- They can no longer start or continue **one-to-one direct messages** with you.

- Any existing direct message conversation between you will no longer allow new messages; however, past messages in the conversation will remain visible.

- Both of you can still interact normally in other areas of the community, including:

### How blocking is shown to you and the other member

To keep things clear:

- A **Blocked direct messages** label appears on the blocked member’s profile so you know they’re blocked from messaging you.

- When a blocked member is viewing the conversation with you, they will see a “ **This member is not receiving messages** ” banner at the bottom of the conversation.

### What blocking direct messages does not do

Blocking direct messages is not the same as removing or muting a member.

It does not:

- Hide or remove their posts or comments.

- Prevent them from participating in spaces or group conversations.

- Limit their access to the community.

### **Who you can and can’t block**

Before blocking a member, keep these things in mind:

- As an admin or a member, you can block any community member individually.

- You cannot block community admins from messaging you.

- If a blocked member is later promoted to admin, they are automatically unblocked.

## **How to block a member from sending you direct messages**

You can block a member through their profile, chat, and DM conversations.

At the moment, the option to block direct messages is available only through the desktop app and web browser.

### **From a member’s profile**

1. Open the member’s profile by searching for them or by clicking their profile photo in any community area.

2. Click&nbsp;**More actions (three dots)**&nbsp;below their name.

3. Select&nbsp; **Block direct messages.**

4. Confirm the action.

### **From a chat space or DM**

This option is helpful if you decide to block someone while viewing a conversation.

1. Open the chat space, group DM, or one-to-one conversation with a member.

2. In the right sidebar, click&nbsp;**More actions (three dots)**&nbsp;next to the member’s name.

3. Select&nbsp; **Block direct messages.**

4. Confirm the action.  

## View your blocked members

To view all members you’ve blocked:

1. Click your profile photo in the top navigation bar, then select&nbsp; **Edit profile.**

2. Navigate to the&nbsp; **Privacy** &nbsp;tab.

3. Scroll down to the&nbsp; **Blocked members** &nbsp;section.

📚 To learn more about this list and how to unblock members, see [**Unblock direct messages from a member**](/p/members/account-access-management/unblock-direct-messages-from-a-member).
