Share direct messages

Last updated: July 24, 2024

The copy link feature enables you to effortlessly share messages from individual and group DMs. This helps you enhance engagement and collaboration by sharing key information across various conversations within your community.

ℹ️ Availability: The copy link feature is available to all community members in the DM conversations. It is currently supported on desktop and mobile web browsers.

You can share any message from a DM conversation by copying the link of the message and pasting it into the desired conversation. 

To copy a link, hover over the message, click the More actions (three dots) icon, and select Copy link.

Share message

You can share messages in the same DM conversation or in any other area within your community, such as chat spaces or group DMs. 

After copying the link, you can easily share it by pasting it into the conversation using the CMD/CTRL + V keyboard shortcut. When you paste the message link in DMs or chat spaces, it will unfurl the link and show a message preview. 

When you share a message posted by other members from individual or group DMs, you will be prompted to confirm the action before sharing it outside the original message location, such as a different DM or chat space. If you would like to proceed, you can click Send to share the message.

If you’re unsure, click Edit message to review and edit your message before sharing.

ℹ️ Note: If the original message is deleted, members will see a Content unavailable message instead of the shared link.

Access restrictions

It’s important to note that if the member who tries to open the link is not part of the original DM conversation, they won’t be able to access it. 

For instance, if you share a link to a message from a group DM with a member who is not part of that group DM, they will see a message prompt indicating that they do not have access to the message.