Mark a direct message as unread
Last updated: July 25, 2024
Have you ever opened a DM only to be pulled away before you could reply? We’ve got you covered! You can mark a message within individual and group DMs as unread to refer to it later.
ℹ️ Availability: The ability to mark a message as unread is currently only supported on web browsers for desktop and mobile devices.
Mark a direct message as unread
This feature lets you revisit messages that you received so you don't miss them among new messages you receive afterward. You can mark both non-threaded and threaded messages as unread within the DM conversation.
To mark a direct message as unread in the DM conversation, hover over it, then click the More actions (three dots) icon and select Mark unread.
For instance, if you receive four new messages in a conversation that you read but wish to revisit them later, mark the first new message as unread. This will mark that message and any message subsequent message as unread.
What happens when you mark a message unread
Once you mark the non-threaded message as unread, the New message highlight will appear above that message, and the DM conversation will appear in the Unread tab.
The Direct messages icon in the community header will also display an updated visual notification for a number of unread DM conversations. When you click the Direct messages icon, an unread indication will appear beside the respective DM.
When you mark a threaded direct message unread, a numbered badge in red representing the number of unread threads will automatically be updated on the Threads icon located in the community header.