# Create and manage group messages

https://help.circle.so/p/chat/dm/create-and-manage-group-messages

Category: [Chat](https://help.circle.so/p/chat) › [Direct messaging](https://help.circle.so/p/chat/dm)

---

_Last updated: September 22, 2025_

## **Start a group message room**

1. Click the **Direct messages** icon in the community header.

2. Click the ➕ icon in the top-right corner of the dialog. The direct messages panel will open in an expanded view.﻿﻿

3. Type the names of members in the **To:** field.﻿﻿

4. Type your message in the messaging field.

5. Press **Enter** or click the **Paper plane** icon to initiate the room.

> 💡 **Tip:** You can create a group DM room with up to 100 members.

> ❗ **Important:** Please keep in mind that the community member who initiates the group message room is automatically assigned as the room's moderator. Their ability to moderate will be limited to this group DM only.  
>   
> Also, admins do not automatically gain the ability to manage rooms for group DMs. To manage the room, the moderator must assign the admin as a moderator.

* * *

## **Send messages**

Send your messages along with the media using the messaging field at the bottom of the room.

Use the icons located below the messaging field to:

- Attach image

- Add emoji

- [**Link to community content**](https://help.circle.so/c/chat/how-do-i-use-entity-links-to-refer-to-content-in-messages)

- Mention a member

- Add GIF

- Attach files

- Record a [**voice message**](https://help.circle.so/c/chat/how-do-i-send-voice-messages)

 ![](https://assets-v3.circle.so/tsc8astwr5gobihdirt5cofdns0m)

* * *

## **Reply in a thread**

Use the chat threads feature to respond to a message in a thread, which will help you keep your conversation organized inside the room.

To reply in a thread:

1. Hover over the message and click the **Reply in thread** icon.

2. Type your reply.

3. Press **Enter** or click the **Paper plane** icon to send your reply.

> ℹ️&nbsp; **Note:** You can also access the ongoing threads in your DM by clicking the replies banner under the parent message.

> 💡&nbsp; **Tip:** To enhance your viewing experience, you can easily adjust the width of the threads sidebar. To do this, click and hold the divider between the DM conversation and threads sidebar, then drag it to your preferred width.

> 💡 **Tip:** Once you have at least one threaded reply in messaging or chat spaces, the **Threads** icon will appear in the community header, allowing you to manage all threaded conversations in one place.  
>   
> 📚 To learn more about chat threads, see [Understanding chat threads](/p/chat/chat-spaces/understanding-chat-threads).

 ![](https://assets-v3.circle.so/u32jna2sseuztd25mh6zlbqxk9d2)

* * *

## **Manage messages**

### **Pin a message**

Moderators can pin a message to the top of the room by hovering over the message and then clicking the **More actions (three dots)** icon → **Pin**.

To unpin a message, hover over the message and click the **More actions (three dots)** icon → **Unpin**.

> ℹ️ **Note:** Currently, only a parent message can be pinned in the room.

> 💡 **Tip:** Click the pinned message at the top to navigate to the message in the room.

### Search messages

You can easily locate specific messages, including threaded replies, within your conversation to revisit important details or references.

When using a web browser, click the **Search** icon at the top of the conversation to open a sidebar with a search field. Enter keywords to find relevant messages, and click a result to navigate directly to that message in the conversation.

### **Edit a message**

1. Hover over the message and click the **More actions (three dots)** icon → **Edit**.

2. Edit your message.

3. Press **Enter** or click the **Paper plane** icon to save your reply.

> ℹ️ **Note:** You can only edit your messages in the room.

### **Delete a message**

1. Hover over the message and click the **More actions (three dots)** icon → **Delete.**

2. Click **Delete**.

> ℹ️ **Note:** Moderators have the ability to delete messages sent by room members.

* * *

## **View room details**

Group DM room has a collapsible right sidebar that shows the following:

- **Room description:** A description to let your members know about the purpose of the group, guidelines, discussion topics, etc. A room description can be added by navigating to the dropdown menu beside the room’s name **→ Edit room info.**

- **Members:** List of members categorized into _Online_ and _Offline_ statuses.

> 💡 **Tip:** Room moderators show up with a **Moderator** badge in the right sidebar.

In the right sidebar, you can also click any member to:

- View member profile

- Assign a member as a room moderator (moderator only option)

- Remove member (moderator only option)

 ![](https://assets-v3.circle.so/x97xoizxpq3fm0s3pl0g7zrtx5dj)

* * *

## **Manage members**

### **Invite members**

1. Click the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header → **Invite members**.

2. Search for a member or select from the list.

3. Click **Add.**

### **Share room link**

You can also share the link to the room with your community members so that when they click the link, they are automatically added to the group DM.

To copy the URL:

1. Click the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header → **Copy room link**.

2. Click **Copy**.

> ℹ️ **Note:** Group DMs allow up to 100 members to interact in a room.

### **Assign moderators**

The community member who initiated the room is assigned as a room moderator by default.&nbsp;  
  
Room moderators can do the following:

- Manage chat room

- Invite members and share room link

- Pin a message

- Assign moderators

- Remove members

To assign any room member as a moderator:

1. Navigate to the right sidebar (if the right sidebar is collapsed, click the **Expand** icon in the top-right corner).

2. Hover over the member’s name and click the **More actions (three dots)** icon → **Make moderator**.

### **Remove members**

1. Navigate to the right sidebar (if the right sidebar is collapsed, click the **Expand** icon in the top-right corner).

2. Hover over the member’s name and click the **More actions (three dots)** icon → **Remove**.

> ℹ️ **Note:** When you remove a member from a group DM, their messages are not automatically deleted. Their content will remain in the room, and their messages will be tagged with **(Removed or left)** next to their name.

* * *

## **Manage room**

Only moderators of the room can manage the additional settings.

> 💡 **Tip:** The community member who initiates the room is automatically assigned as the room's moderator. Their ability to moderate is limited to this group DM only.

### **Update name and description**

When you create a group DM, the names of the members are added as a name for the room.&nbsp;  
  
To update the name and description of the room:

1. Click the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header → **Edit room info**.

2. Add name and/or description.

3. Click **Update info**.

### **Display or hide chat history**

You can enable this to allow your new members to see the previous chat messages in the space. If you have disabled this setting, new members will only see the messages created after they joined the chat space.  
  
To manage chat history setting:

1. Click the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header → **Settings**.

2. Turn on/off the **New member chat history** toggle.

3. Click **Save**.

### **Mute room**

To stop receiving notifications for new messages in this room, members, including moderators, can mute the room by clicking the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header **→ Mute room.**

### **Leave room**

You can also leave a room anytime by clicking the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header **→ Leave room.**

### **Archive room**

Keep your inbox organized by archiving inactive rooms. When you archive a room, the chat disappears from your inbox and will automatically return if new messages are received.

To archive a room, click the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header and select&nbsp; **Archive room**.

### **Delete room**

You can delete the entire room and all its content permanently for all participants.

To delete the room:

1. Click the dropdown icon beside the room’s name in the header → **Delete room**.

2. Click **Delete**.

## **Relevant articles**

- [Get to know direct messaging](/p/chat/dm/get-to-know-direct-messaging)

- [Manage availability of direct messaging in your community](/p/chat/dm/manage-availability-of-direct-messaging-in-your-community)

- [Disable direct messages for your account](/p/chat/dm/disable-direct-messages-for-your-account)

- [Send and manage one-to-one direct messages](/p/chat/dm/send-and-manage-one-to-one-direct-messages)

- [Receiving direct message notifications](/p/chat/dm/receiving-direct-message-notifications)
