Share chat messages
Last updated: July 25, 2024
With the copy link feature, you can easily share messages from chat spaces. This enhances engagement and collaboration by sharing important information across different community discussions.
ℹ️ Availability: The copy link feature is available to all community members in the chat space conversations. It is currently supported on desktop and mobile web browsers.
Copy link
You can share any message from a chat space by copying the link of the message and pasting it into the desired conversation.
To copy a link, hover over the message, click the More actions (three dots) icon, and select Copy link.
Share message
You can share copied messages in the same chat space or in any other area within your community, such as DMs or other chat spaces.
After copying the link, you can easily share it by pasting it into the conversation using the CMD/CTRL + V keyboard shortcut. Pasting the message link in DMs or chat spaces will unfurl the link and show a message preview.
When you share a link to a message posted by other members from a private or secret chat space outside of its original chat space location, you will be prompted to confirm before sending your message. If you would like to proceed, you can click Send to share the message.
If you’re unsure, click Edit message to review and edit your message before sharing.
ℹ️ Note: If the original message is deleted, members will see a Content unavailable message instead of the shared link.
Access restrictions
It’s important to note that when a message is shared from a private or secret chat space, if the member who tries to open the link is not a member of that private space, they won’t be able to access it.
For instance, you shared a message from a private chat space to one of the open chat spaces. If the member who tries to access the link is not a member of that private chat space, they will see a message prompt indicating that they do not have access to the message.