Mark a chat message as unread
Last updated: July 25, 2024
Have you opened a chat space to view unread messages but got busy? No worries! You can mark the chat message as unread and come back to it later.
ℹ️ Availability: The ability to mark a message as unread is currently only supported on web browsers for desktop and mobile devices.
Mark chat message as unread
This feature lets you revisit messages so you don't miss them among new messages posted after that. You can mark both non-threaded and threaded messages as unread within chat spaces.
To mark a message as unread in the chat space, hover over it, click the More actions (three dots) icon, and select Mark unread.
For instance, if you read three new messages posted in the chat space but wish to revisit them later, mark the first new message as unread. This will mark that message and any subsequent message as unread and reset the visual unread message count on space back to three.
What happens when you mark a message unread
Once you mark the non-threaded chat message unread, the New message highlight will be displayed above that message in the chat space. You'll also see a numbered badge next to the chat space's name in the sidebar, indicating the updated unread message count.
When you mark a threaded chat message unread, a red badge representing the updated number of unread threads will automatically appear on the Threads icon in the community header.