# Deleting a space or space group

https://help.circle.so/p/basics/spaces/deleting-a-space-or-space-group

Category: [Basics](https://help.circle.so/p/basics) › [Spaces](https://help.circle.so/p/basics/spaces)

---

_Last updated: September, 2026_

Whether it's to streamline your content or to remove spaces that are no longer relevant, this article will provide you with step-by-step instructions on how to remove spaces and space groups from your community.

> ❗ **Important:** When you delete a space or space group, it enters a soft-deleted state and isn’t permanently deleted right away. You can restore it within 30 days, along with its content and settings. After 30 days, the space or space group and all associated data are permanently deleted. If you need to recover a space after this time, please contact our support team.

📚&nbsp;For a step-by-step guide on how to restore a deleted space, refer to our guide [**here**](https://help.circle.so/p/basics/spaces/view-and-manage-all-spaces?locale=en#restore-a-deleted-space-or-space-group).

## **Delete a space**

1. Click&nbsp; **Community** &nbsp;in the left sidebar, then select&nbsp; **Spaces**.

2. Hover over the space you want to delete, click&nbsp;**More actions (three dots)**&nbsp;and select&nbsp; **Delete space**.

3. In the confirmation dialog, type the word&nbsp; **Delete** &nbsp;to proceed with this action.

4. Click&nbsp; **Confirm.**  

## **Delete a space group**

You can delete a space group to permanently remove all spaces and their content within the group.

1. Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select&nbsp; **Back to community.**

2. In the sidebar, hover over the name of the space group you wish to delete.

3. Click&nbsp;**More actions (three dots)**&nbsp;and select&nbsp; **Edit space group**.

4. Inside the edit dialog, click&nbsp; **Delete space group** &nbsp;located in the bottom-left corner.In the confirmation dialog, type the word&nbsp; **Delete** &nbsp;to confirm your decision.

5. In the confirmation dialog, type the word&nbsp; **Delete** &nbsp;to confirm your decision.

6. Click&nbsp; **Confirm.**
