Update the access setup for an access group

Last updated: August, 2026

You can modify the space and space group access granted through access groups at any time to align with your community’s evolving access strategies. This article covers what to consider before making changes and the steps to do it.

Key things to know before making changes to access

Before updating an access group's setup, consider the following:

  • Changes affect all members: Adding or removing spaces or space groups from an access group instantly updates access for all members of the group. For example, suppose you add Space A to the access group. In that case, members of the group will automatically gain access to Space A. Similarly, if you remove Space B, access group members will automatically lose access to Space B.

  • Manual removals persist: If an admin or moderator manually removes a member from a space that is also included in the access group, updating the access group will not restore that member’s access to the space. Manual removals by admins and moderators take precedence.

  • Manual grants transition to access group: If a member already has access to a space through a manual grant (e.g., manually assigned access to the space), and that space is later added to the access group that the member is part of, the space’s access for that member will be managed by the access group from now on.

  • Be cautious of paywall-connected access groups: If the access group is linked to a paywall, any changes to its setup will affect members who gained access through the paywall. For example, removing a space from the access group will revoke access for paying members, potentially impacting their experience.

Modifying access setup

Follow these steps to add or remove spaces or space groups from an access group:

  1. Click Audience on the left sidebar and select Access groups.

  2. On the Access groups page, locate the access group and click the name to access the setup.

  3. Navigate to the Access tab. You’ll find a table with two columns: No access (spaces or space groups not assigned to the access group) and Access (spaces or space groups currently added to the group). Make your desired changes as explained below.

  4. Click Save changes and confirm the action.

Add spaces or space groups

  1. Hover over the space or space group's name.

  2. Click Add to move it to the Access column.

ℹ️ Note: If you add an entire space group, any new spaces created within that group are automatically included in the access group. This applies regardless of whether the new space is set to private or secret. As a result, members of the access group automatically gain access to these newly created spaces. If you don't want to provide access to future spaces, we recommend adding individual spaces instead of the entire group.

💡Tip: If you wish to provide access to all space groups in their entirety, click Add all located next to the No access column header.

Remove spaces or space groups

  1. Hover over the space or space group's name.

  2. Click Remove to move it to the No Access column.

💡Tip: If you wish to remove access to all spaces from the access, click Remove all next to the Access column header.