# Update the access setup for an access group

https://help.circle.so/p/basics/community-access/update-the-access-setup-for-an-access-group

Category: [Basics](https://help.circle.so/p/basics) › [Community access](https://help.circle.so/p/basics/community-access)

---

_Last updated: August, 2026_

You can modify the space and space group access granted through access groups at any time to align with your community’s evolving access strategies. This article covers what to consider before making changes and the steps to do it.

## **Key things to know before making changes to access**

Before updating an access group's setup, consider the following:

- **Changes affect all members** : Adding or removing spaces or space groups from an access group instantly updates access for all members of the group. For example, suppose you add **Space A** to the access group. In that case, members of the group will automatically gain access to **Space A**. Similarly, if you remove **Space B** , access group members will automatically lose access to **Space B**.

- **Manual removals persist** : If an admin or moderator manually removes a member from a space that is also included in the access group, updating the access group will not restore that member’s access to the space. Manual removals by admins and moderators take precedence.

- **Manual grants transition to access group** : If a member already has access to a space through a manual grant (e.g., manually assigned access to the space), and that space is later added to the access group that the member is part of, the space’s access for that member will be managed by the access group from now on.

- **Be cautious of paywall-connected access groups** : If the access group is linked to a paywall, any changes to its setup will affect members who gained access through the paywall. For example, removing a space from the access group will revoke access for paying members, potentially impacting their experience.

## **Modifying access setup**

Follow these steps to add or remove spaces or space groups from an access group:

1. Click&nbsp; **Audience** &nbsp;on the left sidebar and select&nbsp; **Access groups**.

2. On the **Access groups** page, locate the access group and click the name to access the setup.

3. Navigate to the **Access** tab. You’ll find a table with two columns: **No access** (spaces or space groups not assigned to the access group) and **Access** (spaces or space groups currently added to the group). Make your desired changes as explained below.

4. Click **Save changes** and confirm the action.

### Add spaces or space groups

1. Hover over the space or space group's name.

2. Click **Add** to move it to the **Access** column.  

> ℹ️ **Note** : If you add an entire space group, any new spaces created within that group are automatically included in the access group. This applies regardless of whether the new space is set to private or secret. As a result, members of the access group automatically gain access to these newly created spaces. If you don't want to provide access to future spaces, we recommend adding individual spaces instead of the entire group.

> 💡 **Tip:** If you wish to provide access to all space groups in their entirety, click **Add all** located next to the **No access** column header.

### Remove spaces or space groups

1. Hover over the space or space group's name.

2. Click **Remove** to move it to the **No Access** column.

> 💡 **Tip:** If you wish to remove access to all spaces from the access, click **Remove all** next to the **Access** column header.
