# Archive an access group

https://help.circle.so/p/basics/community-access/archive-an-access-group

Category: [Basics](https://help.circle.so/p/basics) › [Community access](https://help.circle.so/p/basics/community-access)

---

_Last updated: August, 2026_

Make your access groups inactive by archiving them when they're no longer needed. This article outlines the key considerations and steps to archive and unarchive access groups.

## **Before you archive**

Archiving an access group affects both your entry points and group members. Review these important details:

- **Unlink entry points:** You must remove the access group from all entry points before archiving, including onboarding settings, invitation links, and paywalls.

- **Impact on members** : Members will immediately lose access to all spaces and space groups connected to the archived group, unless they belong to another access group with overlapping permissions to the same spaces or space groups.

## **Archive an access group**

1. Click&nbsp; **Audience** &nbsp;on the left sidebar and select&nbsp; **Access groups**.

2. Hover over the access group, click&nbsp; **More actions** &nbsp;**(three dots)**&nbsp;icon, and select&nbsp; **Archive**.  

1. Confirm the action by typing the keyword as indicated in the dialog.

Once archived, the group will:

- Display an " **Archived**" status.

- Appear on the **Archived** tab on the **Access groups** page.

- Become unavailable for editing until unarchived.  

## **Unarchive an access group**

To make an archived group active again, follow these steps:

1. Click&nbsp; **Audience** &nbsp;on the left sidebar and select&nbsp; **Access groups**.

2. Hover over the access group, click&nbsp; **More actions** &nbsp;**(three dots)**&nbsp;icon, and select&nbsp; **Unarchive**.

The group will return to active status, ready for access configurations and member management.
