# Updating your invite links

https://help.circle.so/p/audience/onboarding/updating-your-invitation-links

Category: [Audience](https://help.circle.so/p/audience) › [Onboarding](https://help.circle.so/p/audience/onboarding)

---

_Last updated: March 12, 2025_

You can update or remove invite links at any time. This article will walk you through modifying, revoking, or deleting invite links and explain how these changes impact new and existing members.

## **Before you update links**

Planning to tweak your invite links? Here’s a quick guide to understand how changes affect functionality and member access.

### **What happens when you edit, revoke, or delete the link**

- **Members who have already used the link** : No impact! They keep their original setup, unaffected by any changes.

- **Members who have not used the link yet** : They’ll join with the updated configuration—or won’t be able to join if the link is revoked or deleted.

Let’s break it down with an example. Say you share an invite link with Member A and Member B. Member A joins, but Member B hasn’t used the link yet. Then you modify the link. Here’s what happens:

- **Member A (Already joined)**: Any changes you make to the invite link won’t affect them.

- **Member B (Haven’t used the link yet)**:

### **Changing the paywall trial configuration**

Once you’ve set up a paywall trial with an invite link, here’s how changes to that setup affect members:

- **One trial per member** : The invite link creates a trial paywall only once per member. If someone tries to reuse the link, they won’t get another trial. This applies even if you’ve updated the trial settings since they first joined—no new trial will be created.

- **Removed coupons** : If a member joins after the coupon you added to the invite link is revoked or deleted, they’ll still get the trial, just without the discount.

- **Archived paywalls** : If the paywall is archived before someone joins, they’ll be added to the community without a paywall trial. As a result, the member won’t get access to any content locked behind the trial paywall. However, they will get access to spaces that you have configured on the Access tab of the invite link setup. They can also view and join any open spaces based on your space visibility settings.

### **Changing community URL**

If you change your community’s default URL (click the community name or logo in the top-left corner and select **Settings** ), all existing invite links will switch to the new community URL. As a result, the invite links you shared in the past will no longer work.

> ℹ️ **Note:** Members who have already used the link will simply need to use the updated community URL to access their account.

We recommend sharing an updated invite link with anyone who hasn't yet used it to join your community. You can copy the updated invite link from:

- The **Invite links** page by clicking **Copy link** next to the link.

- The **Details** tab within the **Edit invite link** page by clicking **Copy link**.

> 💡 **Tip** : Always double-check with new members who haven’t yet used the link to ensure they’ve got the latest link after big changes!

### **Updating spaces or space groups**

- ​​ **Spaces in the link** : If you edit, move, or delete spaces or space groups added to the **Access** tab within the invite link (via the **Space access** option), the link updates automatically to reflect those changes.

- **Access groups** : If you tweak an access group linked to the invite, those updates apply to _all_ members in that group—existing and new alike.

### **Updating custom domain**

If you add or remove a custom domain to your community, the existing invite links in your community will be updated with new links based on the current community URL. As a result, the invite links you shared in the past will no longer work.

We recommend sharing an updated invite link with anyone who hasn't yet joined your community. You can copy the updated invite link from:

- The **Invite links** page by clicking **Copy link** next to the link.

- The **Details** tab within the **Edit invite link** page by clicking **Copy link**.

> 💡 **Tip** : Always double-check with new members who haven’t yet used the link to ensure they’ve got the latest link after big changes!

## **Managing invite links**

You can update, disable, reactivate, or delete invite links at any time. Below are step-by-step instructions for each action.

### **Edit an invite link**

1. Click the community name or logo in the top-left corner and select **Audience**.

2. From the sidebar menu, go to **Invite links**.

3. To edit the link, simply click the name of the invite link from the list.

4. Update the link’s configuration as needed.

5. Click **Save and exit** to update the link.

### **Revoke an invite link**

Revoking an invite link disables it, preventing further use until you reactivate it.

To revoke the invite link:

1. Go to the **Invite links** page (see steps 1-2 in the **Edit an invite link** section above).

2. Hover over the link, click the **More actions (three dots)** icon, and select **Revoke**.

3. Confirm the action.

The link will no longer be active, and its status will be changed to "Disabled."&nbsp;&nbsp;

### **Reactivate an invite link**

If you’ve revoked an invite link but need to enable it again, you can reactivate it at any time.

To reactivate a revoked link:

1. Go to the **Invite links** page (see steps 1-2 in the **Edit an invite link** section above).

2. Hover over the link, click the **More actions (three dots)** icon, and select **Reactivate**.

3. Confirm the action.

Once the link is reactivated, anyone who has the link will be able to use it freely.

### **Delete an invite link**

If you no longer need an invite link, you can permanently delete it.

To delete the invite link:

1. Go to the **Invite links** page (see steps 1-2 in the **Edit an invite link** section above).

2. Hover over the link, click the **More actions (three dots)** icon, and select **Delete**.

3. Confirm the action.

Once a link is deleted, anyone who has it can no longer use it. Unlike revoking, deleted links **cannot be restored** —you’ll need to create a new one if needed.

## **Relevant articles**

- [Set up an invite link](/p/audience/onboarding/set-up-an-invitation-link)

- [Access list of members who received access via an invite link](https://help.circle.so/p/audience/member-management/access-list-of-members-who-received-access-via-an-invitation-link?locale=en)
