# Upgrade or downgrade your community plan 

https://help.circle.so/p/administration/account/upgrade-or-downgrade-your-community-plan

Category: [Administration](https://help.circle.so/p/administration) › [Account and billing](https://help.circle.so/p/administration/account)

---

_Last updated: October, 2026_

Your community's needs are ever-evolving, and we understand that. That's why we've made it simple for you to precisely adjust your community plan to suit your requirements. Whether you're ready to take your community to new heights with an upgrade or need to scale back with a downgrade, this article will guide you through those changes.

## Upgrading your plan

Upgrades to your plan take place immediately. Once you complete the upgrade, your community will have access to features right away.

### Key things to know about upgrading your plan

- **Upgrading your plan along with the billing cycle (e.g., Professional monthly to Business Annual)**

- **Upgrading your plan with a different billing cycle (e.g., Professional annual to Business monthly)**

- **Upgrading within the same billing cycle (e.g., Professional monthly to Business monthly)**

### How to upgrade your plan

To upgrade your community plan:

1. Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select&nbsp; **Settings**.

2. Under the&nbsp; **Subscription** &nbsp;section, select&nbsp; **Plans**.

3. Under&nbsp; **Pick your plan** , select the plan you’d like to upgrade to.

4. In the&nbsp; **Summary** &nbsp;section on the right side of the page, select&nbsp; **annual** &nbsp;or&nbsp; **monthly** &nbsp;billing.

5. Click&nbsp; **Upgrade** &nbsp;(or&nbsp; **Change plan** &nbsp;if you’re only changing the billing cycle).

## Downgrading your plan

Downgrades are scheduled for the end of your current billing cycle, so you keep access to everything you’ve already paid for until then.

### Key things to know about downgrading your plan

- A credit will not be issued for unused time when downgrading as downgrades are scheduled for the end of your current billing cycle.

- If you exceed the limits of your new plan (members, admins, spaces, etc.) on the scheduled date, the downgrade will be automatically canceled, and your current plan will continue.

- You can cancel a scheduled downgrade at any time before it takes effect.

- You’ll see a banner on your billing page confirming the scheduled change, with a **Cancel downgrade** option.

- If you try to make another plan change while a downgrade is scheduled, you’ll be prompted to cancel the scheduled downgrade first.

### Understanding how plan limits affect your downgrade

Let’s take a look at how your current plan limits affect your downgrade:

**Downgrading your plan (e.g., Business to Professional)**

- When you start a downgrade, we’ll compare your current plan limits to those of your target plan.

- If you’re over the limits, you can still schedule the downgrade, and make any necessary changes to your limits (for example, reducing the number of admins or spaces) before the end of your billing cycle.

- On the scheduled date, if you’re still over the limits, the downgrade will be canceled automatically.

**Downgrading your billing cycle (e.g., Business Annual to Business Monthly)**

- Plan limits are not checked for interval changes.

- The change will take effect at the end of your current billing cycle.

### How to downgrade your plan

To downgrade your community plan:

1. Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select&nbsp; **Settings**.

2. Under the&nbsp; **Subscription** &nbsp;section, select&nbsp; **Plans**.

3. Under&nbsp; **Pick your plan** , select the plan you’d like to downgrade to.

4. In the&nbsp; **Summary** &nbsp;section on the right side of the page, select&nbsp; **annual** &nbsp;or&nbsp; **monthly** &nbsp;billing.

5. Click&nbsp; **Downgrade**.

Once scheduled, a banner will appear on your plans page confirming the scheduled date, target plan and the option to cancel the downgrade.

## Email notifications for downgrades

When you schedule a downgrade, and your community exceeds the limits of the target plan, we’ll email the community owner and all community admins to remind them to make the necessary changes before the scheduled downgrade date.

On the scheduled date, if your community is still over limits and the downgrade is canceled, we’ll email the owner and all admins to let them know the downgrade was cancelled.

## Viewing Past Transactions

After any plan change, you can view your recent invoices:

1. Click the community name or logo (or the dropdown icon next to it) in the top-left corner and select&nbsp; **Settings**.

2. Under the&nbsp; **Subscription** &nbsp;section, select&nbsp; **Plans**.

3. Navigate to the&nbsp; **Invoices** &nbsp;section to view all past invoices.  

📚 To learn more about downloading invoices and receipts of transactions for your community plan, see [**Download invoices and payment receipts for your community plan**](/p/administration/account/download-invoices-and-payment-receipts-for-your-community-plan).

## **Relevant articles**

- [**View your community plan details**](/p/administration/account/view-your-community-plan-details)

- [**Add or remove community add-ons**](/p/administration/account/add-or-remove-community-add-ons)

- [**Update billing and payment information for your community plan**](/p/administration/account/update-billing-and-payment-information-for-your-community-plan)
